Skip to content

Belay on!

January 27, 2011

I recently learned that my family is a bunch of monkeys. There was a new climbing gym built near the small town where my parents live (and where I grew up), so over Thanksgiving and New Year’s we decided to give it a try. We had all climbed a few walls before, having done high ropes at the camp we used to attend (Lake Beauty Bible Camp–Woohoo!). Then in Ames, Iowa, Erica, John, and I used to occasionally go climbing at the area climbing walls, and Erica in particular has made it a regular hobby.

But we really rocked those walls! I was especially proud of my mom and dad, who hadn’t climbed walls in probably 10 years. Check out my monkey family:

Yep, that's my dad!

Mom and Erica climbing away

Hooray for my new harness! (Thanks Erica!)

Exhausted, but proud of ourselves!

We had a super fun time and it was great to do something different with the family.  Next stop: real rocks?? I’m not sure about that one, but we’ll definitely be back to climb again. Here’s to many more adventures with my family!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

