Skip to content

My hope for you

July 22, 2014

I am 35 weeks pregnant with you, our little girl. So many months I wondered if I’d ever get pregnant, if I’d stay pregnant, if I’d make it this far. And still sometimes I wonder if you will really be there at the end of all this.

But little one, you are here now, living in me, growing with me, kicking and hiccuping and sleeping, just as you should. It’s hard to believe that my body, the same one I believed for so long was broken, has been able to carry you and nourish you this far. What a big, big world you will be born into, with so much to learn and do and accomplish. I wonder what you will look like and who you will be.  And I hope for oh so many wonderful things for you.

First, of course, I hope you are healthy and happy.

I hope you experience joy everyday, even in just the little things, like dogs and pizza and thunderstorms and a cup of tea and a long talk with a good friend.

I hope you find your calling in life and that you will be very successful at it, but I also hope you learn that success is determined by so much more than just money and status.

I hope you learn to face adversity with determination, knowing that you are strong enough to get through any difficulty.

I hope you discover how to have grace for yourself and for others, and to learn what is and isn’t worth getting upset about.

I hope you find a hobby that makes you feel alive. I don’t care if it’s music or rock climbing or reading or skiing or volunteering or gardening or scuba diving–I just want you to find your own interests and do what brings you joy.

I hope you find friends who cherish you for who you are. Friends who will stick with you through the highs and lows. And I hope you will be that kind of friend as well.

I hope you learn to respond with kindness when someone is mean to you, but that you also learn that it’s okay to stand up for yourself.

I hope you meet a man who treats you as well as your daddy treats me. But if you don’t, that’s okay too. You are still worthy and you are still beloved.

I hope you like me, genuinely like me, not just because I am your mom, but because we have fun together and respect one another.

I hope you learn that your worth is not based on your looks or your achievements or your popularity, but just in who you are. You are so valuable, exactly how you are.

I hope you grow up knowing and loving God. He is always steadfast and kind and good, even when the world is not.

And baby girl, I hope you know how very loved and wanted you are. You have a great support network of family and friends, and so many prayers have been spoken over your life. You will be blessed.

One Comment leave one →
  1. C.B. Anderson permalink
    July 30, 2014 9:28 pm

    Elena, I can’t tell you how much joy it gives me to read these sweet words! What a profound answer to prayer this little one is! Blessings as you cherish these last weeks with little girlie inside of you 🙂

Leave a Reply

