Skip to content

I never want to forget…

January 29, 2015

photo (7)

The way your entire face lights up when you smile, and how it makes me feel like the most special person in the world.

Your crazy noises, from the giggles you make us work so hard to get, your delighted shrieks of joy, the fake coughs you do when you are hungry or tired, your silly babbling, and your “billygoat” crying that makes us laugh (sorry!).

Your kicks and squiggles when you are excited.

How intently you watch us eat and drink. And that time you almost pulled my entire salad onto my lap.

The dimples on your knuckles. The dimples on your cheeks. The dimples on your…other cheeks.

Your poor little bald spot. Too much playtime on your back, too much rubbing your head side to side in your crib. Actually scratch that, I’m okay with forgetting the bald spot.

The way you melt into my chest when I sing to you before naptime. Your favorites are “Edelweiss,” “Say, say, my playmate,” and “My [Brielle] lies over the ocean.”

Your fascination with my hair. Sometimes you play with it nicely, sometimes you yank it, sometimes you try to eat it. You also love your daddy’s goatee.

Your bleary-eyed face when you are late for a nap, and you can hardly keep your eyes open.

How mad you get when you roll over and get stuck on your tummy, and how proud you look when you figure out how to roll back to your back again.

Your sweet smell. Part milk, part lavender (your lotion), part coconut (the coconut oil we use on your hair), part just you.

How when you are having a rough night, or maybe you just wake up too early, you instantly relax and fall asleep when we lay you between us in bed. Sleepy baby snuggles are the best.

Your happy little grunts when you are eating.

The joy you have brought to me, and my entire family, at the time we needed it the most.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

